Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Immunobiology Steering Committee

Sharing knowledge. Sharing Hope.
Skip Navigation LinksHome   |   About CIBMTR   |   Who We Are   |   Committees   |   Other Administrative Committees   |   Immunobiology Steering Committee
  • Print
  • Share

NMDP/Be The Match Histocompatibility Advisory Group/CIBMTR Repository Steering Committee

The NMDP/Be The Match Histocompatibility Advisory group serves as the CIBMTR Repository Steering Committee.


  • Review and approve the use of donor-recipient specimens from the Research Sample Repository
  • Coordinate with the CIBMTR to develop, prioritize, and oversee immunogenetics and histocompatibility research that utilizes the human leukocyte antigen (HLA) database


The NMDP/Be The Match Histocompatibility Advisory Group functions as the Repository Steering Committee for the CIBMTR. These appointed members provide expertise in the following areas:

  • Adult Transplantation / HLA and Matching
  • Pediatric Transplantation / HLA and Matching
  • Histocompatibility
  • Immunogenetics
  • International Unrelated Donor Registry
  • Biostatistics

In addition, there are liaisons from CIBMTR, NMDP/Be The Match, the American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics (ASHI), the NMDP/Be The Match Cord Blood Advisory Group, the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) and the C.W. Bill Young Marrow Donor Recruitment and Research Program.

Committee Members
Carlheinz Müller, MD, PhDZentrales Knochenmarkspender - Register Deutschland (ZKRD), Ulm, Germany
Marcelo Fernandez-Vina, PhD
Diplomate ABHI
​Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA
​(Navy Representative) C.W. Bill Young Marrow Donor Recruitment and Research Program, Rockville, MD
Brent Logan, PhDCIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Robyn Ashton, RN, MSNHRSA Division of Transplantation, Rockville, MD
Miguel-Angel Perales, MDMemorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY
Joseph Pidala, MD, PhD (Chair)​Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa, FL
Bronwen Shaw, MD, PhDCIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Juliet Barker, MBBSMemorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY


National Marrow Donor Program (NMDP) Staff
Jeffery Auletta, MD
​CIBMTR/NMDP, Minneapolis, MN
Yung-Tsi Bolon, PhDCIBMTR/NMDP, Minneapolis, MN
Jason Dehn, MPH
​NDMP, Minneapolis, MN
​Steven Devine, MD
CIBMTR/NMDP, Minneapolis, MN
Martin Maiers, MSNMDP, Minneapolis, MN
Stephen Spellman, MS CIBMTR/NMDP, Minneapolis, MN
Neng Yu, PhD
​UMass, Memorial Medical Center

Last Updated: 3/31/2021 2:22 PM