Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Joint Affiliation Board

Sharing knowledge. Sharing Hope.
Skip Navigation LinksHome   |   About CIBMTR   |   Who We Are   |   Committees   |   Joint Affiliation Board
  • Print
  • Share

Joint Affiliation Board

An Affiliation Board with representation from the Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) and the National Marrow Donor Program® (NMDP)/Be The Match® provides general oversight of the CIBMTR budget and operations. 


  • Reviews and approves an annual budget;
  • Reviews and approves a research plan;
  • Quarterly assesses CIBMTR productivity;
  • Establishes other CIBMTR committees, as needed;
  • Amends, as necessary, terms of the Affiliation Agreement;
  • Reviews and approves data access and confidentiality policies.


  • The Chief CIBMTR Scientific Directors (NDMP/Be The Match and MCW) serve as co-chairs of the Joint Affiliation Board. 
  • Each organization then has 3 additional voting members and 2 non-voting members serve as part of the Board. 

MCW Membership

CIBMTR representatives:
  • Bronwen Shaw, MD, PhD; Chief Scientific Director, CIBMTR MCW
  • Patricia Steinert, PhD, MBA; Executive Scientific Director, Policy and Governance, CIBMTR MCW
  • J. Douglas Rizzo, MD, MS; Senior Scientific Director and Principal Investigator of the SCTOD, CIBMTR MCW
  • Marcelo Pasquini, MD, MS; Senior Scientific Director, and PI and Registry Director of the CIDR, CIBMTR MCW
MCW representatives:
  • Christopher P. Kops, CPA, MBA; Executive Vice President for Finance and Administration and Chief Operating Officer, MCW
  • Juliet McDevitt, JD; Associate General Counsel, MCW

NMDP Membership

CIBMTR representatives:

  • Jeffery Auletta, MD; Chief Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP
  • Mary Hengen, MBA; Vice President, Patient Outcomes and Experience, NMDP/Be The Match
  • Stephen Spellman, MBS; Vice President of Research and Senior Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP
  • Steven Devine, MD; Senior Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP; Chief Medical Officer, NMDP/Be The Match
NMDP representatives:

  • Krista Dusil; Chief Financial Officer, NMDP/Be The Match
  • Brian L. Lindberg, JD; Chief Legal Officer and General Counsel, NMDP/Be The Match


The Joint Affiliation Board meets quarterly.

Last Updated: 1/26/2022 12:47 PM