Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Consumer Advocacy Committee

Sharing knowledge. Sharing Hope.
Skip Navigation LinksHome   |   About CIBMTR   |   Who We Are   |   Committees   |   Consumer Advocacy Committee
  • Print
  • Share

Consumer Advocacy Committee

The Consumer Advocacy Committee provides valuable patient and donor perspectives for the development of the CIBMTR research agenda.


  • Provide a consumer perspective on the CIBMTR research agenda through participation in Working Committees and RCI BMT
  • Provide input to CIBMTR on adapting hematopoietic cell transplantation (HCT) research publications for use by the general public
  • Promote awareness among patients regarding research opportunities
  • Advise the CIBMTR on ways to increase patient participation in research
  • May submit research ideas to appropriate Working Committees


Members are appointed by the Advisory Committee, based on recommendations from a CIBMTR application review panel, and include:

  • Nine voting members who serve for up to two consecutive three-year terms. These members are involved with HCT either as a patient, caregiver, family member, donor or staff person / volunteer with an agency that interacts with HCT patients or donors
  • Ex-officio members from CIBMTR, the National Marrow Donor Program® (NMDP)/Be The Match® and the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

In addition, committee membership strives to represent a diversity of backgrounds, including persons who:

  • Understand adult and / or pediatric HCT issues
  • Are familiar with cord blood transplantation
  • Have been or understand the needs of a related and / or unrelated donors
  • Understand issues that affect access to or outcomes of HCT secondary to demographics and diversity
  • Do not have access to the Internet, or are aware of how people without access to the Internet get their information
  • Are actively involved in HCT-related research
  • Have marketing, communications or professional writing experience


  • The Consumer Advocacy Committee meets annually at the TCT Meetings and periodically via conference calls
  • Works on CAC projects, beyond teleconferences, as needed
Jack Aiello, EE, MS​San Jose, CA
Hilary HallDana Farber Cancer Institute, Cambridge, MA


​Nicole Adams​San Angelo, TX
​Maureen Beaman​Milwaukee, WI
​Jeffery Haertling​Tierra Verde, FL
Kristin Scheeler ​Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, White Plains, NY
Bryce Waldman​Chicago, IL
Jennifer Wilder National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD

Scientific Director
J. Douglas Rizzo, MD, MS CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI

Linda Burns, MD ​NMDP/Be The Match, Minneapolis, MN
Dennis Confer, MD CIBMTR, Minneapolis, MN
Carol Doleysh, BS (CIBMTR liaison) CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Mary Horowitz, MD, MS CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Satoko (Janet) Kuramoto-Crawford, PhD, MHS​Health Resources and Services Administration, Rockville, MD
​Jennifer Motl​CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Marilyn Levi, MD​Health Resources and Services Administration, Rockville, MD
Meggan McCann, MPH (NMDP liaison) NMDP/Be The Match, Minneapolis, MN
Bronwen Shaw, MD, PhD ​CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
​Nawraz Shawir, MBBSHealth Resources and Services Administration, Rockville, MD
Patricia Steinert, PhD, MBA ​CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI

Last Updated: 5/30/2019 3:30 PM