Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Executive Committee

Sharing knowledge. Sharing Hope.
Skip Navigation LinksHome   |   About CIBMTR   |   Who We Are   |   Committees   |   Administrative Leadership Committees   |   Executive Committee
  • Print
  • Share

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee provides ongoing advice and counsel to the CIBMTR Coordinating Center. The Executive Committee is responsible for ensuring that the CIBMTR carries out its mission and fulfills the requirements of its policies and procedures.


  • Provide direction on scientific activities and policy decisions
  • Finalize priorities for scientific studies, with input from the Working Committees
  • Review results of audits and recommend measures to address deficiencies
  • Appoint a CIBMTR Program Chair and Organizing Committee for the annual Tandem Meetings of ASTCT & CIBMTR and selects the annual Mortimer M. Bortin lecturer


  • Comprised of a subset of CIBMTR Advisory Committee members
Elected Members
John Wingard, MD, Shands HealthCare & University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
Chair Elect:
Michael Verneris, MD, University of Colorado - Children's Hospital, Aurora, CO
Vice Chairs:
  North America:
Ami Bhatt, MD, PhD, Stanford Health Care, Stanford University School of Medicine, Stanford, CA
Jakob Passweg, MD, MS, University Hospital Basel, Basel, Switzerland 
  Central / South America: Vanderson Rocha, MD, PhD, CTMO-HCFMUSP, São Paolo, Brazil
  Asia / Africa / Australia:
Tracey O'Brien, MBA, LLM, MBChB, BSc, Kid's Cancer Center, Sydney Children's Hospital, Sydney, Australia

Appointed Members
Gregory Abel, MD, MPH, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, MA
​Business Representative:Jeff Chell, MD, NMDP/Be The Match, Minneapolis, MN
​CIDR Executive Committee Representative:
Amanda Olson, MD, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
Collection Center Representative:James Mason, MD, Scripps Blood and Marrow Transplant Program, La Jolla, CA
​Cord Blood Bank Representative:Andromachi Scaradavou, MD, New York Blood Center, Long Island City, NY

Patient / Family Representatives
(Co-Chairs, Consumer Advocacy Committee):

Bryce Waldman, Chicago, IL

Brandon Nuechterlein, Aurora, CO

Ex Officio Committee Members (*indicates non-voting members)
Chief Scientific Director, CIBMTR MCW:
Bronwen Shaw, MD, PhD*
Chief Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP; Senior Vice President, Patient Outcomes and Experience, NMDP/Be The Match:
​Jeffery Auletta, MD*
Chief Statistical Director, CIBMTR MCW:
Mei-Jie Zhang, PhD*
Executive Scientific Director, Policy and Governance, CIBMTR MCW:
Patricia Steinert, PhD, MBA*
Vice President, Patient Outcomes and Experience, NMDP/Be The Match:
Mary Hengen, MBA*
Senior Scientific Director and Principal Investigator of the SCTOD, CIBMTR MCW:
J. Douglas Rizzo, MD, MS*
​Vice President of Research and Senior Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP:
​Steve Spellman, MBS*
Senior Scientific Director, and PI and Registry Director of the CIDR, CIBMTR MCW:
Marcelo Pasquini, MD, MS*
Chief Medical Officer, NMDP/Be The Match; Senior Scientific Director, CIBMTR NMDP:
Steven Devine, MD*
Chief Executive Officer, NMDP/Be The Match:
Amy Ronneberg*
​Scientific Director Emeritus, CIBMTR MCW:
Mary Horowitz, MD, MS*
Director, Strategic Programs,
NMDP/Be The Match:
Meggan McCann, MPH*

Be The Match / MCW / HRSA Contracting Officer:
Nawraz Shawir, MBBS*
​Be The Match / Navy Project Officer:
MCW / HRSA Contracting Officers:
Marilyn Levi, MD*

​MCW / NCI Project Officer:
​Lori Henderson, PhD*
​MCW / NHLBI Project Officers:
Nancy DiFronzo, PhD*
​Nahed El Kassar, MD, PhD*

MCW / NIAID Project Officer:
​Linda Griffith, MD, PhD*
​ASTCT Representative:
Brenda Sandmaier, MD*
​Nominating Committee Chair:
Edward Copelan, MD*

Last Updated: 10/27/2022 1:56 PM