Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Clinical Trials Advisory Committee

Sharing knowledge. Sharing Hope.
Skip Navigation LinksHome   |   About CIBMTR   |   Who We Are   |   Committees   |   Other Administrative Committees   |   Clinical Trials Advisory Committee
  • Print
  • Share

Clinical Trials Advisory Committee

The Clinical Trials Advisory Committee (CTAC) is an independent advisory body for the CIBMTR Resource for Clinical Investigation in Blood and Marrow Transplant (RCI BMT) proposals. Its interdisciplinary membership has expertise in HCT and conducting clinical trials.


  • Assess submitted proposals for scientific merit, feasibility and alignment with scientific agenda
  • Advise the RCI BMT Clinical Trials Office (CTO) on priority of proposed studies
  • Review progress of ongoing studies
  • Provide guidance to RCI BMT in relation to operational efficiencies


  • A minimum of ten members recommended by the CIBMTR Nominating Committee and/or elected by the CIBMTR Assembly 
  • Serve a three-year term, renewable one time
  • Adult and pediatric transplant physicians including persons versed in representing donor interest (i.e., transfusion medicine physician)
  • Non-physicians with experience in patient and donor issues (i.e., Chair of Consumer Advocacy Committee)
  • Consulting (ad hoc) members are individuals with specific expertise who may be invited by the CTAC chair to review a specific study. These (ad hoc) members have equal voting rights pertaining to the particular study
  • Ex-officio members include: RCI BMT Director, CIBMTR Sr. Manager – Prospective Research, CIBMTR PhD Statistician, Chief Medical Officer of the NMDP/Be The Match, CIBMTR Senior Research Advisor, CIBMTR Chief Scientific Director, and one additional Scientific Director


The Clinical Trials Advisory Committee meets at least annually, and may meet as often as quarterly, to review and provide recommendations regarding proposals.


Elected Members​ ​
Chair Elect: John Koreth, MBBS, DPhil, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, MA
​Past Chair:John Levine, MD, MS, Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York, NY
​Members: Natalie Callander, MD, University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics, Madison, WI
Stephan Grupp, MD, PhD, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, PA
Amrita Krishnan, MD, City of Hope, Duarte, CA
​Marco Mielcarek, MD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA
Sophie Paczesny, MD, PhD, Indiana University Hospital/Riley Hospital for Children, Indianapolis, IN
Katy Rezvani, MD, PhD, M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
Bipin Savani, MD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center, Nashville, TN
​Appointed Members​
CIBMTR Consumer Advocacy Committee Co-Chairs
Jeffery Haertling ​Tierra Verde, FL
Hilary Hall ​Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Cambridge, MA
​Ex Officio Members​  ​
Dennis Confer, MD CIBMTR, Minneapolis, MN
Rebecca Drexler CIBMTR, Minneapolis, MN
​​Robert Hartzman, MD, Capt. USN (retired)​Department of Defense, Rockville, MD
Mary Horowitz, MD, MS CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Roberta King, MPH CIBMTR, Minneapolis, MN
Brent R. Logan, PhD  CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Nancy Poland, MA NMDP/Be The Match, Minneapolis, MN
Marcie Riches, MD, MS CIBMTR Scientific Director, University of North Carolina Hospitals, Chapel Hill, NC
Bronwen Shaw, MD, PhD
CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Linda Burns, MD ​NMDP/Be The Match, Minneapolis, MN
Daniel Weisdorf, MD ​CIBMTR Senior Research Advisor, Minneapolis, MN

Last Updated: 4/14/2017 12:20 PM