Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Advisory Committee

Sharing knowledge. Sharing Hope.
Skip Navigation LinksHome   |   About CIBMTR   |   Who We Are   |   Committees   |   Administrative Leadership Committees   |   Advisory Committee
  • Print
  • Share

Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee is a worldwide group that reviews and approves CIBMTR activities.


  • Oversee all scientific activities of the CIBMTR
  • Review policies of the organization including use of CIBMTR data
  • Review progress of ongoing studies including publications reports
  • Selects Distinguished Service Award recipient for BMT Tandem Meetings


  • Members to represent transplant centers in North America, Central and South America, Europe and Asia/Australia/Africa contingencies are elected by the CIBMTR Assembly for three-year terms
  • Members to represent donor centers, collection centers, patients, and individuals with expertise in business and ethics are appointed by the Advisory Committee
  • Ex-officio members also represent the National Cancer Institute (NCI), the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI), the National Institute for Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) and the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Office of Naval Research (ONR) and CIBMTR leadership


In-person Advisory Committee meetings are conducted once annually during the BMT Tandem Meetings. Meetings are open to the public and to federal representatives, except on rare occasions when deliberations pose a conflict of interest (such as in center confidentiality). Ad hoc task forces meet by teleconference as needed to address specific issues.

Elected Members
Rob Soiffer, MD, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, MA
Past Chair: Paul Martin, MD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA
Vice Chairs
  North America: Paul Carpenter, MD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA
  Europe: Katarina Le Blanc, MD, PhD, Karolinska University Hospital, Centre for Allogeneic Stem Cell Transplantation, Stockholm, Sweden
  Central/South America: Nelson Hamerschlak, MD, PhD, Albert Einstein Hospital, Sao Paolo, Brazil
  Asia/Africa/Australia: Biju George, MBBS, MD, Christian Medical College Hospital, Vellore, India
Members at Large
Karen Ballen, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston, MA
Michael Bishop, MD, University of Chicago Medicine, Chicago, IL
Claudio Brunstein, MD, PhD, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
    Navneet Majhail, MD, MS, Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Cleveland, OH
    Miguel-Angel Perales, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY
Bart Scott, MD, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle, WA
  Non North America: Jane Apperley, MBChB, MD, FRCP, Imperial College / Hammersmith Hospital, London, United Kingdom
Hildegard Greinix, MD, Medical University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria
    Shahrukh Hashmi, MD, MPH, King Faisal Specialist Hospital and Research Center, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
​Tracey O'Brien, MBA, LLM, MBCHB, BSc, Sydney Children's Hospital, Sydney, Australia
​Anna Sureda, MD, PhD, Institut Catala d"Oncologia-Hospital Duran I Reynals, Barcelona, Spain
Jeffrey Szer, MD, Royal Melbourne Hospital City Campus, Victoria, Australia

Appointed Members
​ASBMT Representative: John DiPersio, MD, PhD, Washington University School of Medicine, St Louis, MO
​Bioethicist: Steven Joffe, MD, MPH, Abramson Cancer Center University of Pennsylvania Medical Center, Philadelphia, PA
​Business Representative: Jeff Chell, MD, NMDP/Be The Match, Minneapolis, MN
Collection Center Representative: James Mason, MD, Scripps Blood and Marrow Transplant Program, La Jolla, CA
​Cord Blood Bank Representative: Andromachi Scaradavou, MD, New York Blood Center, Long Island City, NY
​Donor Center Representative: Jason Gangewere, NMDP, Philadelphia, PA

Patient/Family Representatives
(Co-Chairs, Consumer Advocacy Committee):

Jeffrey Haertling, Tierra Verde, FL

Hilary Hall, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Cambridge, MA


Ex Officio Voting Committee Members
NMDP/HRSA Contracting Officer:Nawraz Shawir, MBBS
NMDP/Navy Project Officer:Robert Hartzman, MD
MCW/HRSA Contracting Officer: Janet Kuamoto-Crawford, PhD, MHS
​MCW/HRSA Contracting Officer: Marilyn Levi, MD
MCW/NCI Project Officer:William Merritt, PhD
MCW/NHLBI Project Officer:Nancy DiFronzo, PhD
MCW/NIAID Project Officer:Linda Griffith, MD, PhD
Nominating Committee Chair (chair will not vote on Nominating Committee tasks):Corey Cutler, MD, MPH, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, MA


Ex Officio Non-Voting Committee Members
Executive Director: Randy Mills, PhD, NMDP, Minneapolis, MN
Chief Scientific Director: Mary M. Horowitz, MD, MS, CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Chief Statistical Director (Interim): Mei-Jie Zhang, PhD, CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Associate Scientific Director SCTOD: J. Douglas Rizzo, MD, MS, CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI
Associate Scientific Director CIBMTR Minneapolis: Dennis Confer, MD, NMDP, Minneapolis, MN

​Vice President of Research Operations, CIBMTR Minneapolis:

Roberta King, CIBMTR, Minneapolis, MN
​Vice President of Research Operations, CIBMTR Milwaukee: Patricia Steinert, PhD, MBA, CIBMTR, Milwaukee, WI​

Senior Vice President and Senior Medical Director, Research Operations:

Steven Devine, MDCIBMTR, Minneapolis, MN
​Vice President Patient Services: ​Elizabeth Murphy, EdD, RN, NMDP, Minneapolis, MN
Senior Research Advisor:
Daniel Weisdorf, MD, CIBMTR, Minneapolis, MN

Last Updated: 7/19/2018 2:24 PM